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The following guidance is to advise the reader of the current position of the Kentucky 

Department of Insurance (“the Department”) on the specified issue. 

TO:                All Insurers, Agents, Surplus Lines Brokers, and other Licensed or Authorized 

Persons Transacting the Business of Insurance in Kentucky 

FROM: Sharon P. Clark, Commissioner  

Kentucky Department of Insurance 

RE: Temporary Resident Agent Licenses for New Applicants 

DATE: April 30, 2020 

 UPDATED 6/1/2020 

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  

The Kentucky Department of Insurance (“Department”) issues this guidance pursuant to 

Executive Order 2020-220, State of Emergency Relating to Insurance. 

On March 6, 2020, Governor Beshear issued Executive Order 2020-215 declaring a State of 

Emergency due to the COVID-19 pandemic. On March 9, 2020, Governor Andy Beshear issued 

Executive Order 2020-220 giving the Commissioner of Insurance the authority to temporarily 

waive, suspend, and/or modify the operation of any statute or administrative regulation currently 

in place under the purview of the Kentucky Department of Insurance in order to best serve the 

interest of the public health, safety, and welfare during the state of emergency related to COVID-

19. 

On March 25, 2020 Governor Andy Beshear signed Executive Order 2020-257 ordering all non-

life-sustaining businesses close. This resulted in all in person testing sites for agent licenses 

being closed. 

Requirements for Temporary Licenses 

The Department will issue temporary agent licenses to individual applicants meeting the 

requirements for licensure without requiring examination, subject to the following conditions: 
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1. To be eligible for an individual temporary agent license, an individual must: 

 Be a resident of Kentucky, 

 Submit an application for a regular agent license and examination, 

 Pay all license and exam fees, 

 Provide certificate of completion of Kentucky-approved pre-licensing course(s), 

 Provide criminal background report from Kentucky Administrative Office of the 

Courts (AOC), 

 Receive approval from DOI to schedule exam(s), 

 Not have failed a Kentucky agent examination within the last 12 months, and 

 Receive a sponsoring appointment, with appropriate fee, from an authorized 

insurance company. 

2. Temporary agent licenses will be issued for a period of 180 days. The temporary licenses 

will not renew, but may be extended by the Department as necessary through the duration of 

the Executive Order. Temporary licenses will automatically expire 60 days after the 

Executive Order 2020-257 is lifted. 

3. Temporary agent licenses will be terminated upon the loss of the sponsoring insurer 

appointment(s), and will not be re-issued. 

4. Temporary agent licenses will be terminated upon failing an agent examination, and will 

not be re-issued. 

5. Temporary agent licenses are subject to cancellation or revocation if the temporary 

licensee violates the insurance laws of this state or if the interests of insureds or the public 

are endangered. 

6. The temporary agent license allows the agent to operate in Kentucky as a resident 

temporary agent. Temporary agents are not eligible for non-resident license in other states. 

7. The temporary agent must be appointed by a sponsoring insurer authorized with the 

Department. In accordance with KRS 304.9-035, the sponsoring insurer assumes 

responsibility for all acts of the temporary licensee, and must assure that sales and training 

are under the supervision of a licensed agent in good standing. The sponsoring insurer must 

maintain a record of all agents operating under a temporary license, business transacted by 

them, and the name and license number of their supervising agent. 

8. The temporary agent may not be designated to any licensed business entity. 

9. In accordance with KRS 304.9-310 (3), a temporary license shall have the same license 

powers and duties as under a permanent license but shall not be obtained for the sole production 

of controlled business as defined in KRS 304.9-100, and no sale of insurance of any kind shall be 

made upon the licensee’s own life or the lives of any relative by blood or marriage. 

10. Any active temporary agent license issued pursuant to this guidance may be converted 

to a regular agent license by completion of all prerequisites of a license for the desired line or 

lines of insurance, including meeting all examination requirements pursuant to the applicable 

statutes. No additional fee shall be required in association with the issuance of the regular 

agent license. 



11. An active sponsoring insurer appointment may be terminated by the insurer at any time 

by submitting Form 8302-TE to the Department. If the appointment of a temporary agent is 

not terminated by the sponsoring insurer, the active appointment will be converted to the 

regular agent license with no additional form or fee required. 

How to Apply for a Temporary License 

1. Applicants who have not yet applied for a regular agent license must do so through 

www.nipr.com. The regular application requires license and examination fees, AOC 

background report, and pre-licensing certification. The application must be approved by 

DOI before a temporary agent license will be considered. 

2. A paper application for a temporary agent license must be completed in addition to the 

application for the regular agent license. The application for the temporary license may be 

found at this link: http://insurance.ky.gov/PPC/Documents/20200430-1045.pdf. The 

application must be submitted by email to DOI.AgentLicensingMail@ky.gov; or mail to 

KY Dept. of Insurance, Attn: Temporary Agent License, 500 Mero Street 2 SE 11, Mayo-

Underwood Building, Frankfort, KY 40601. NOTE – no additional fee is required for the 

temporary agent license. 

3. The sponsoring insurer must complete and mail Form 8302-AP found at this link: 

http://insurance.ky.gov/PPC/Documents/Form8302-APAppointment.pdf. The form and 

$40 appointment fee must be mailed to KY Dept. of Insurance, Attn: Temporary Agent 

License, 500 Mero Street 2 SE 11, Mayo-Underwood Building, Frankfort, KY 40601. 

Make checks payable to KY State Treasurer. To terminate an appointment, insurer must 

use the appointment termination Form 8302-TE found at this link: 

http://insurance.ky.gov/PPC/Documents/Form8302-TETermination.pdf.  

Questions should be directed to the Division of Agent Licensing at 

DOI.AgentLicensingMail@ky.gov or (502) 564-6004. 

The last day that temporary licenses will be issued under this guidance is July 31, 2020 at 

4:30 pm ET.  Any applications pending for items at this time will be considered incomplete 

and will be placed in denied status. 

/s/ Sharon P. Clark 

Sharon P. Clark, Commissioner 

Kentucky Department of Insurance 

Attachment: Temporary Agent License FAQ 
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1. What are the requirements for a temporary agent license? 

To be eligible for an individual temporary agent license, an individual must: 

 Be a resident of Kentucky, 

 Submit an application for a regular agent license and examination 
through www.nipr.com,  

 Pay all license and exam fees, 

 Provide certificate of completion of Kentucky-approved pre-licensing course(s), 

 Provide criminal background report from Kentucky Administrative Office of the 

Courts (AOC), and any applicable disclosure attachments, 

 Receive approval from the Department of Insurance (DOI) to schedule exam(s), 

 Not have failed a Kentucky agent examination within the last 12 months, and 

 Receive a sponsoring appointment, with appropriate fee, from an authorized insurance 

company. 

2. How do I apply for a temporary agent license? Is there a fee? 

 Applicants who have not yet applied for a regular agent license must do so through 

www.nipr.com. The regular application requires license and examination fees, AOC 

background report, and pre-licensing certification. The application must be approved by DOI 

before a temporary agent license will be considered. 

 A paper application for a temporary agent license must be completed in addition to the 

application for the regular agent license. The application for the temporary license may be 

found at this link: http://insurance.ky.gov/PPC/Documents/20200430-1045.pdf. The 

application must be submitted by email to DOI.AgentLicensingMail@ky.gov; or mail to 

KY Dept. of Insurance, Attn: Temporary Agent License, 500 Mero Street 2 SE 11, Mayo-

Underwood Building, Frankfort, KY 40601. NOTE – no additional fee is required for the 

temporary agent license. 

 The sponsoring insurer must complete and mail Form 8302-AP found at this link: 

http://insurance.ky.gov/PPC/Documents/Form8302-APAppointment.pdf. The form and $40 

appointment fee must be mailed to KY Dept. of Insurance, Attn: Temporary Agent License, 

500 Mero Street 2 SE 11, Mayo-Underwood Building, Frankfort, KY 40601. Make checks 

payable to Kentucky State Treasurer. To terminate an appointment, insurer must use the 

appointment termination Form 8302-TE found at this link: 

http://insurance.ky.gov/PPC/Documents/Form8302-TETermination.pdf.  

3. What if I failed an insurance exam last year? Can I still get a temporary license? 

If you failed any insurance examination within the last 12 months, you are not eligible for a 

temporary agent license. 

4. What can I do with a temporary agent license? 
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A temporary license has the same license powers and duties as under a permanent license, and 

business will be under the guidance of a supervising, licensed agent. The temporary agent 

license shall not be obtained for the sole production of controlled business as defined in KRS 

304.9-100, and no sale of insurance of any kind shall be made upon the licensee’s own life or 

the lives of any relative by blood or marriage. 

5. Will the license be issued if I don’t have a sponsoring insurance company? 

No. The license will only be made active upon the appointment from a Kentucky-authorized 

insurance company. 

6. Can I submit the company appointment form and fee for myself? 

The appointment form is valid only when submitted by the insurance company, signed by 

their authorized representative, and includes the appointment fee. 

7. When is the license expired or terminated? 

The temporary license is issued for 180-days. It will not renew, but may be extended by the 

Department as necessary through the duration of the Executive Order. Temporary licenses 

will automatically expire 60 days after the Executive Order 2020-257 is lifted, or when the 

regular agent license is issued upon passing the insurance exam. 

The temporary license will be terminated upon the loss of the sponsoring insurance 

company appointment. 

Temporary agent licenses are subject to cancellation or revocation if the temporary licensee 

violates the insurance laws of this state or if the interests of insureds or the public are 

endangered. 

Once terminated for any reason, you may not reapply for a temporary agent license. 

8. When Executive Order 2020-257 is lifted, can I schedule an exam even though I hold a temporary 

license? 

Yes, when the Executive Order is lifted, and insurance testing sites are opened, you may 

schedule an exam, while you hold the temporary agent license. If the exam is passed, the 

regular agent license will be issued, and the temporary license will expire. If the exam is 

failed, the temporary agent license will be terminated immediately. 

9. Can I apply for a temporary agent license at the same time I apply for a regular agent license? 

Yes, the regular agent application will be processed first. All requirements must be met and 

the application approved, before you are eligible for the temporary agent license. 

10. Can I get a temporary agent license in another state with this Kentucky temporary license? 

No, this temporary license is for Kentucky residents to work in Kentucky only. It is not valid 

for reciprocity in other states. 

Please contact the Agent Licensing Division with any additional questions –  

DOI.AgentLicensingMail@ky.gov, or (502) 564-6004. 
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