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Kentucky Department of Insurance 02/2008

Review Requirements Checklist

Commercial Umbrella
(Excess Liability)

REVIEW
REQUIREMENTS

REFERENCE

COMMENTS

FORMS

Advisory Organizations and
Forms Providers

Adopting by reference, Blanket
reference or Filing authorization

KRS 304.14-120, 806 KAR
14:006

When an insurer chooses to adopt one or more specific filings of an AO or FP, it shall do so in accordance with the usual filing
procedures and shall clearly identify which filing(s) it is adopting. Reference to items must always be made using the AO or FP
filing reference number, not the circular or form number. Adoption of items more than 2 years old must include copies of the
items being adopted for review for current compliance.

When an insurer chooses to adopt ALL of the policy forms of an AO or FP, it may either provide written authorization to AO or
FP, who must in turn file the authorization with the department, or the insurer must file written notice of "blanket reference
adoption” with the department that it is adopting by reference all of the current and future policy filed by the AO or FP.

Delaying adoption or non-adoption

KRS 304.14-120, 806 KAR
14:006

When an insurer has previously adopted all an AO or FP’s forms and chooses to delay the effective date of a new release, the
insurer may submit a letter and specify an adoption date within 6 months of the advisory effective dates. A second letter may
be submitted with a new date within one year from the original advisory effective date. If the insurer will not adopt within one
year, a complete filing with forms and fees is required to non-adopt. Insurers will not be permitted to delay adoption or non-
adopt releases bringing forms into compliance with the law without making similar independent changes bringing their forms
into compliance.

Applications

Need not be filed unless part of
policy

KRS 304.14-020, KRS 304.14-
120

Applications filed will be approved or disapproved as the law requires. Those forming a part of the policy must comply with all
of the laws related to forms.

Fraud notice

KRS 304.47-030

All applications and claim forms shall contain a statement that clearly states in substance the following: “Any person who
knowingly and with intent to defraud any insurance company or other person files an application for insurance containing any
materially false information or conceals, for the purpose of misleading, information concerning any fact material thereto
commits a fraudulent act, which is a crime.”

Warranties prohibited

KRS 304.14-110

Statements in applications are representations, not warranties. They shall not prevent recovery under the contract unless they
are fraudulent, material to the acceptance of the risk, or the insurer would not have issued at the same premium rate or policy
limits.

Arbitration

Mandatory binding arbitration is
prohibited

Kentucky Constitution, Section
14, KRS 304.14-370, KRS
417.050

No conditions, stipulations or agreements in a contract of insurance shall deprive the courts of this state of jurisdiction.
However, the parties may agree to binding arbitration after the dispute arises. Nonbinding arbitration provisions are permitted.

Cancellation & Nonrenewal

Reasons permitted for cancellation

KRS 304.20-310(2) and 330,
KRS 304. 14-030

Mid-term cancellations of policies in force more than 60 days can only occur for one or more of seven reasons:

. Non-payment of premium

. Discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made by or with the knowledge of the named insured.

. Discovery of willful or reckless acts or omissions on the part of the named insured that increase any hazard insured
against.

Occurrence of a change in the risk that substantially increases any hazard insured against.

Violation of local fire, health, safety, building or construction regulation or ordinance with respect to any insured property.
The insurer is unable to reinsure the risk.

Determination by the Commissioner that the continuation of the policy would place the insurer in violation of the KY
insurance code or regulations.

Nonpayment of premium is the failure to discharge any obligation in connection with the payment of premiums. Insured’s
failure to repay losses and/or LAE within the deductible does not constitute non-payment of premium.
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Notices of cancellation and
nonrenewal

KRS 304.20-300 through 350,
806 KAR 20: 010

14 days in advance of effective date of cancellation if for non-payment of premium or if policy in force 60 days or less. 75
days notice for nonrenewal and all other cancellations. Termination is a cancellation or nonrenewal of coverage in whole or in
part. Movement between companies is a termination and Insured must be given 75 day notice. Specific reason(s) must be
given in the notices.

Declination or termination
prohibited

KRS 304.20-310(3) and (4), KRS
340. 20- 340, KRS 304.12-085

The declination or termination by an insurer or agent is prohibited if the declination or termination is based solely upon the:

. Race, color, religion, nationality, national origin, ethnic group, age, sex or marital status of the applicant or named
insured.

. Lawful occupation or profession of the applicant or named insured, except that this provision shall not apply to an insurer
which limits its market to one (1) lawful occupation or profession or to several related lawful occupations or professions or
to an insurer that does not provide the kind of insurance sought by the applicant.

. Fact that another insurer previously declined to insure the applicant or terminated an existing policy in which the
applicant was the named insured

. Fact that the applicant or named insured previously obtained insurance through a residual market mechanism.

. Fact that the insured has previously obtained property or casualty insurance from a carrier providing nonstandard
coverage; OR

. Fact that the insured has sustained one (1) or more losses that immediately result from a natural cause without the
intervention of any person and that could not have been prevented by the exercise of prudence, diligence, and care.

15 day notice of policy expiration

KRS 304.20-320(3)(c)

When a policy terminates because the renewal premium was not received on or before the due date, the insurer shall mail a
notice within 15 days stating that the policy was not renewed. Notice shall include the date on which the coverage ceased to
exist.

Policy period defined

KRS 304.20-310

Policy periods less than 6 (six) months will be considered to be 6 (six) months and policies without an expiration date will be
considered to be 1 (one) year.

Notice of renewal

KRS 304.20-035

Must give 30 day notice to the insured of renewal or 7 days for a policy period of less than 30 days. Renewal notice must
contain the renewal premium amount and payment due date. Copy must be sent to agent. If the renewal premium increases
more than 25% of the premium for the preceding policy term for like coverage and like risks, 75 days notice must be given.

Unreimbursed Deductibles

KRS 304.14-030, KRS 304.20-
310, KRS 304.20-330

Unreimbursed deductibles do not constitute premium and the insured's failure to repay claim deductibles and claim expenses
is not an allowable reason for cancellation

Contents of Policies
and other forms

Required policy contents

KRS 304.14-150

Every policy shall specify:

The names of the parties to the contract

The subject of the insurance

The risks insured against

The time when the insurance thereunder takes effect and the period during which the insurance is to continue
The premium

The conditions pertaining to the insurance

Benefits payable

Ambiguous, inconsistent,
misleading language prohibited,
and substantial legibility required

KRS 304.14-130 (1)(b)(c)

Forms shall not: (1) contain any inconsistent, ambiguous or misleading clauses, or exceptions and conditions which
deceptively affect the risk purported to be assumed in the general coverage of the contract or (2) contain any title, heading, or
indication which is misleading, or be printed in a size of type or manner of reproduction so as to be substantially illegible.

English language requirement

KRS 304.14-435

All policy forms and any other insurance policy or claim-related information shall be written in the English language.

Privacy Notices

806 KAR 3:210

Not required by if filed must conform to 806 KAR 3:210

Agreements part of the contract

KRS 304.14-180

Agreements in conflict with, modifying, or extending the contract must be made part of the policy.
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Blank endorsements are prohibited

KRS 304.14-120, 806 KAR
14:006, Memo 12-15-95

Endorsements containing blanks where the policy may be amended are not permitted, because all policy language, terms and

conditions, etc. must be submitted for prior approval. We will, however, accept a form with the following stipulations:

. Underwriting rule pages showing the use of the endorsement must accompany the endorsement filing;

e  Adisclaimer must be in a prominent position on the endorsement indicating, “This endorsement will not be used (a) to
impede, restrict, amend or otherwise revise any provisions, exclusions, conditions or other terms of the policy to which it
is attached or (b) as a renewal certificate;” AND

e  The endorsement must include a signature and date line for the insured’s acknowledgement.

The only other way the form will be accepted is where the numbered form lists all possible changes for which it will be used

and is approved. The form may be computer generated and only print out the change(s) necessary for a particular insured;

however, all changes that may at any time be used must be filed and approved before use of the form.

Conformity clauses

KRS 304.14-130 (1)(a)

Forms shall not be approved if they are in any respect in violation of or do not comply with KY law. The presence of a
conformity clause will not bring about approval of otherwise non-compliant policy provisions.

Grouping for preferential treatment

806 KAR 14:090

The grouping of persons or risks for preferential treatment in insurance rates or forms is prohibited unless filed and approved.

Group certificates

806 KAR 14:060

Group certificates issued for delivery to Kentucky residents under any group policy issued to an association outside Kentucky
where premiums are payable by individual members must be filed and approved.

Certificates issued to third parties

806 KAR 14:100

Certificate forms must be filed for prior approval by each insurer. Shall include the following or similar statement: “This
certificate or memorandum of insurance neither affirmatively nor negatively amends, extends, or alters the coverage afforded
by policy number issued by

Policies may be assignable or not

KRS 304.14-250

A policy may be assignable or not assignable as provided by its terms.

Jurisdiction of courts

KRS 304.14-370

No conditions in policies may limit the jurisdiction of Kentucky courts.

Venue of suit against insurers

KRS 304.14-380

Suit upon causes of action arising within this state against an insurer upon an insurance contract shall be brought in the
county where the cause of action arose or in the county where the policyholder instituting the action resides.

Limitation of suits against insurer
not less than one year

KRS 304.14-370

No conditions in policies may limit the time for commencing actions against insurers for a period of less than one year.

Dividend Plans

Dividends payable to individual
members, Dividends not
guaranteed

KRS 304.14-290, 806 KAR
14:030

Every insurer, issuing participating policies, shall pay dividends, unused premium refunds or savings distribution on account of
any such policy only to the real party in interest entitled. Dividends shall not be guaranteed.

Dividend plans filings, participation

806 KAR 14:110

Insurer must identify and group policyholders contributing to such savings into specific classifications.

Insurer must file dividend plans in “same manner as a rate filing”

Cannot propose both participating and nonpatrticipating policies for the same class of risk.

Plan must be made available to all insureds meeting the eligibility requirements.

Agents licensed by one or more companies of a group must also be licensed by the company within such group

authorized to write dividend plans, if such agent does not write such participating policies.

. Initial filing must contain either satisfactory evidence of proper specific charter (defined in KRS 304.3-050), authority to
issue participating policies, or satisfactory evidence that the laws of its domicile provide that it may issue policies entitled
to participate in the earnings of the insurer through dividends.

. Filing must also contain proposed policy provisions or proposed policy endorsement form for payment of dividends,
which must also provide that all such dividends must be paid directly to the insured.

. Dividends must be paid only out of that part of the surplus funds derived from any realized net profits from insurer’s
business.

. Brochures and advertising materials must affirmatively and clearly set forth that dividends are not guaranteed and that all

policyholders are eligible for the dividend program whether or not they are members of, or affiliated with, any association.

Filing Standards

Prior approval

KRS 304.14-120

No policy form, application made a part of the policy, rider, endorsement, certificate, etc. shall be delivered until approved by
the Commissioner.

Forms disapproved or withdrawn

KRS 304.14-120 and 130(2)

Disapproved filings require a new filing submitted with appropriate fees and forms. The insurer shall not use in this state any
form after disapproval or withdrawal of approval.
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Filing document set

KRS 304.14-120, 806 KAR
14:006, 806 KAR 4:010(2)

A filing may include any number of documents, filed together on a particular date, pertaining to a single type of insurance
(TOI) from the Uniform Property & Casualty Product Coding Matrix. Forms shall be filed separately from rates and rules.
Paper filings must be submitted with two (2) full document sets on 8 %2 x 11 white paper and three (3) transmittal documents.
Each document set must contain the following properly completed forms and information:

. Property & Casualty Transmittal Document, if a group filing is being made, all companies included must be listed.

Form Filing Schedule

If the filing is being made by a third party, a signed letter of authorization from the company shall be submitted

The company’s documents that are being revised/submitted

$5.00 filing fee per company per line of insurance, subject to retaliatory provision

Self-addressed stamped envelope

Fees collected in advance

KRS 304.4-010

Fees shall be collected in advance or within 15 days of electronic submission.

Retaliatory fees

KRS 304.3-270

When fees, taxes, fines, etc. charged by the state of domicile are in excess of Kentucky fees, then the domicile state’s fees
apply.

Liberalization Clause

Liberalization

KRS 304.14-180, 806 KAR
14:050

If additional benefits are afforded to policyholders of an insurer which do not require increases in premium rates or reductions
of coverage, such benefits shall also be afforded to all prior policyholders paying the same rates.

Loss Settlement

Proof of Loss forms

KRS 304.14-270

Insurers shall furnish proof of loss forms upon written request of any person.

Claim payment offset by premium
due prohibited

KRS 304.12-230(5), (6), (8)

Any attempt by a carrier to offset the amount it owes on a claim by the amount of premium an insured owes could be an unfair
denial of a claim. The insured has a reasonable expectation that if the claim is covered, coverage will be provided up to the
limits of the policy.

HIV Exclusion , Limits, or Different
Terms or Conditions

KRS 304.14-130 (1)(e)

HIV shall not be excluded or treated differently than other sicknesses or medical conditions.

Domestic violence / innocent co-
insured

KRS 304.12-211

Insurers are prohibited from using the fact that an applicant or insured sustained bodily injury resulting from domestic violence
or abuse as the sole basis for rating and underwriting decisions or to limit the amount or kind of coverage available.
Furthermore, if a policy excludes property coverage for intentional acts, the insurer may not deny payment to an innocent co-
insured if the loss occurred because of domestic violence or abuse and the perpetrator of the loss is criminally prosecuted for
the act causing the loss. Payment to the innocent co-insured may be limited to their ownership interests in the property as

Time for payment of claims

KRS 304.12-235

Claims to be paid in 30 days or interest owed.

RATES and RULES

Advisory Organizations and
Statistical Agents

Adopting by reference, Blanket
reference or Filing authorization

KRS 304.13-051, KRS 304.13-
061, KRS 304.13-121, 806 KAR
13:150

When an insurer chooses to adopt one or more specific filings of an AO or SA, it shall do so in accordance with the usual filing
procedures and shall clearly identify which filing(s) it is adopting. Reference to items must always be made using the AO or SA
filing reference number, not the circular number. Adoption of rules more than 2 years old shall include copies of the rules for
review for current compliance.

When an insurer chooses to adopt ALL of the loss costs and/or rules of an AO or SA, it may either provide written
authorization to AO or SA, who must in turn file the authorization with the Department, or the insurer must file written notice of
"blanket reference adoption" with the Department that it is adopting by reference all of the current and future filings by the AO
or SA.

Duplication of loss costs expenses is not permitted if already included in AO or SA loss cost filings.

Delaying adoption or non-adoption

KRS 304.13-051, KRS 304.13-
061, KRS 304.13-121, 806 KAR
13:150

When an insurer has previously adopted all loss costs and rules of an AO or SA and chooses to delay the effective date of a
new release, the insurer may submit a letter and specify an adoption date within 6 months of the advisory effective dates. A
second letter may be submitted with a new date within one year from the original advisory effective date. If the insurer will not
adopt within one year, a complete filing with forms and fees is required to non-adopt. Insurers will not be permitted to delay
adoption or non-adopt releases bringing rules into compliance with the law without making similar independent changes
bringing their rules into compliance.

Dividend Plans
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Dividends payable to individual
members, Dividends not
guaranteed

KRS 304.14-290, 806 KAR
14:030

Every insurer, issuing participating policies, shall pay dividends, unused premium refunds or savings distribution on account of
any such policy only to the real party in interest entitled. Dividends payable under participating policies shall not be
guaranteed.

Dividend plans filings, participation

806 KAR 14:110

. Insurer must identify and group policyholders contributing to such savings into specific classifications.

Insurer must file dividend plans in “same manner as a rate filing”

Cannot propose both participating and nonpatrticipating policies for the same class of risk.

Plan must be made available to all insureds meeting the eligibility requirements.

Agents licensed by one or more companies of a group must also be licensed by the company within such group

authorized to write dividend plans, if such agent does not write such participating policies.

. Initial filing must contain either satisfactory evidence of proper specific charter (defined in KRS 304.3-050), authority to
issue participating policies, or satisfactory evidence that the laws of its domicile provide that it may issue policies entitled
to participate in the earnings of the insurer through dividends.

. Filing must also contain proposed policy provisions or proposed policy endorsement form for payment of dividends,
which must also provide that all such dividends must be paid directly to the insured.

. Dividends must be paid only out of that part of the surplus funds derived from any realized net profits from insurer’s
business.

. Brochures and advertising materials must affirmatively and clearly set forth that dividends are not guaranteed and that all
policyholders are eligible for the dividend program whether or not they are members of, or affiliated with, any association.

Filing Standards

Rates & rate information

KRS 304.13-051, 057, 061

No rate filing is required; however, periodic requests for rate information may be made by the Department.

Rating Manuals & Underwriting
Rules

KRS 304.13-051

All manuals and underwriting rules must be filed within 15 days of the effective date. Manuals, rules, and guidelines must be
adhered to until amended. To the extent underwriting guidelines regarding the bases on which risks are acceptable are
considered proprietary and confidential, it must be clearly marked on the filing and an explanation of the reason(s) the
information is proprietary and confidential must be included. Information relative to premium determination is never propriety.
Filings disapproved may not be used until a new filing is submitted with all appropriate fees and forms.

Filing document set

KRS 304.13-051, 806 KAR
13:150

A filing may include any number of documents, filed together on a particular date, pertaining to a single type of insurance
(TOI) from the Uniform Property & Casualty Product Coding Matrix. Forms shall be filed separately from rates and rules.
Paper filings must be submitted with two (2) full document sets on 8 %2 x 11 white paper and three (3) transmittal documents.
Each document set must contain the following properly completed forms and information:

. Property & Casualty Transmittal Document, if a group filing is being made, all companies included must be listed.
Rate/Rule Filing Schedule

LC-1 [and LC-2 if applicable] must be completed for each company.

If the filing is being made by a third party, a signed letter of authorization from the company shall be submitted

The company’s documents that are being revised/submitted

$5.00 filing fee for Use & File filings, $100.00 filing fee for prior approval filings, per company per line of insurance,
subject to retaliatory provision

. Self-addressed stamped envelope

Fees Collected in Advance

KRS 304.4-010

Fees shall be collected in advance or within 15 days if the filing is submitted electronically.

Retaliatory Fees

KRS 304.3-270

When fees, taxes, fines, etc. charged by the state of domicile are in excess of Kentucky fees, then the domicile state’s fees
apply.

General Rates and Rules

Premium defined; fees are included

KRS 304.14-030 & Bulletin 94-3

Premium is the consideration for insurance, by whatever name called. Any assessment or any membership, policy, survey,
inspection, service, reinstatement, cancellation or similar fee or other charge in consideration for an insurance contract is
deemed part of the premium.

lllegal dealing in premium

KRS 304.12-190

No person shall charge for insurance not provided nor charge any amount in excess of that expended for insurance nor
knowingly fail to refund any charge for insurance in excess of the amount actually expended for insurance. Unearned
premium shall be refunded upon the request of the insured, even if nominal. Minimum earned premiums and fully earned fees
such as policy, membership, reinstatement, cancellation, etc. may be used only when the remaining premium is refunded
prorata or under other circumstances with support.
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Domestic violence / innocent co-
insured

KRS 304.12-211

Insurers are prohibited from using the fact that an applicant or insured sustained bodily injury resulting from domestic violence
or abuse as the sole basis for rating and underwriting decisions or to limit the amount or kind of coverage available.

Grouping for preferential treatment

806 KAR 14:090

Grouping of persons or risks for preferential treatment in insurance rates or forms is prohibited unless filed and approved.

Unfair discrimination prohibited
. Association discounts
. Pricing based on education

KRS 304.12-080, 806 KAR
14:090

Actuarial evidence of difference in risk or expenses must be provided.

HIV Exclusion , Limits, or Different
Terms or Conditions

KRS 304.14-130 (1)(e)

HIV shall not be excluded or treated differently than other sicknesses or medical conditions.

Rebates prohibited

KRS 304.12-090and 100,
Advisory Opinion 04-05

Flexible commissions prohibited

KRS 304.12-080 and 090,
Advisory Opinion 03-01

Tie-in Sales

KRS 304.12-130

Prohibited as a method of competition that is unfair and not in public interest

Household Exclusions

State Farm v. Marley (KY) 151 S.
W.3d33

Household exclusion clauses in umbrella policies are unenforceable in regards to claims made due to automobile accidents.

lllegal inducements to buy
insurance prohibited

KRS 304.12-110, Bulletin 2007-1

Some discounts may be illegal inducements.

Binders permitted and limited

KRS 304.14-220, 806 KAR
14:020

Not valid beyond 90 days of effective date unless subsequently approved, premium must be charged pro-rata and can not be
cancelled flat unless cancelled within 15 days of effective date.

Renewal, Nonrenewal,
Cancellation, Declination

Notice of renewal premiums

KRS 304.20-035

Must give 30 day notice to the insured of renewal or 7 days for a policy period of less than 30 days. Renewal notice must
contain the renewal premium amount and payment due date. Copy must be sent to agent. If the renewal premium increases
more than 25% of the premium for the preceding policy term for like coverage and like risks, 75 days notice must be given.

Premium increase 25%

KRS 304.20-320(4)

No insurer shall increase the premium more than 25 % of the premium for the preceding policy term for like coverage and like
risks unless at least 75 days before the end of the policy period the insurer mails or delivers to the named insured at the last
known address a notice for the renewal premium amount.

Reasons permitted for cancellation

KRS 304.20-310(2) and 330,
KRS 304.14-030

Mid-term cancellations of policies in force more than 60 days can only occur for one of seven reasons:

. Non-payment of premium

. Discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made by or with the knowledge of the named insured.

. Discovery of willful or reckless acts or omissions on the part of the named insured that increase any hazard insured
against.

Occurrence of a change in the risk that substantially increases any hazard insured against.

Violation of local fire, health, safety, building or construction regulation or ordinance with respect to any insured property.
The insurer is unable to reinsure the risk.

Determination by the Commissioner that the continuation of the policy would place the insurer in violation of the KY
insurance code or regulations.

Nonpayment of premium is the failure to discharge any obligation in connection with the payment of premiums. Insured’s
failure to repay losses and/or LAE within the deductible does not constitute non-payment of premium.

Notices of cancellation and
nonrenewal

KRS 304.20-300 through 350,
806 KAR 20-010

14 days in advance of effective date of cancellation if for non-payment of premium or if policy in force 60 days or less. 75
days notice for nonrenewal and all other cancellations. Termination is a cancellation or nonrenewal of coverage in whole or in
part. Movement between companies is a termination and Insured must be given 75 days notice. Specific reason(s) must be
given in the notices.
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Declination or termination
prohibited

KRS 304.20-310(3) and (4) and
340, KRS 304.20-042, KRS
304.12-085

A Nonrenewal is a termination. The declination or termination by an insurer or agent is prohibited if the declination or

termination is based solely upon the:

. Race, religion, nationality, ethnic group, age, sex or marital status of the applicant or named insured

e  Age or location of the residence or property

. Lawful occupation or profession of the applicant or named insured, except that this provision shall not apply to an insurer
which limits its market to one (1) lawful occupation or profession or to several related lawful occupations or professions or
to an insurer that does not provide the kind of insurance sought by the applicant

e  Fact that another insurer previously declined to insure the applicant or terminated an existing policy in which the
applicant was the named insured

. Fact that the applicant or named insured previously obtained insurance through a residual market mechanism.

. Fact that the insured has previously obtained property or casualty insurance from a carrier providing nonstandard
coverage or

. Fact that the insured has sustained one (1) or more losses that immediately result from a natural cause without the
intervention of any person and that could not have been prevented by the exercise of prudence, diligence, and care.

Notice at policy expiration

KRS 304.20-320(3)(c)

When a policy terminates because the renewal premium was not received on or before the due date, the insurer shall mail a
notice within 15 days stating that the policy was not renewed. Notice shall include the date on which the coverage ceased to
exist.

Taxes and Fees

Installment fees and delinquent
installment fees

KRS 304.13-051, 806 KAR
13:090, KRS 304.30-090 and
100, 806 KAR 30: 050

Shall be no less favorable than those permitted by premium finance companies. Maximum of $15 fee plus 12% per annum
installment fees. Delinquent fee of $1 to maximum of 5% of the amount of the delinquent installment late 5 days or more.

Late fees on entire premium

KRS 304.14-030

Maximum of 18% per annum if premium late 30 days or more. Such charges shall be clearly indicated on all bills and
statements of account.

Reinstatement fee or change in
coverage on expired policy
prohibited

KRS 304.20-037

If an insurer has indicated its willingness to renew a policy by mailing to the named insured a notice of the renewal premium

and the amount was not paid, the insurer may, in the absence of an increase in the risk insured, reinstate the policy upon the

written request of the insured if the request is made within thirty (30) days following expiration. The insurer shall not require,

as a condition for reinstatement, an increase in coverage amount or the premium charge above that which was stated in its

renewal offer.

e  This does not apply to a cancellation due to non-payment of an installment other than the first installment for the renewal
premium

Fully earned MGA policy fees for
underwriting expenses

KRS 304.13-171

The fee shall only be collected if coverage is provided and shall be deemed fully earned. The fee shall be submitted for prior
approval.

Local government premium tax

KRS 91A.080, 806 KAR 2:096
and 097, annual DOI Bulletin

If filed, they must be current and accurate. Must be disclosed on title page of policy issued for the first time when the tax is
charged.

Premium surcharge

KRS 136.392, 806 KAR 2:100

Must be disclosed on declarations page of policy issued for the first time when the surcharge is charged.
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